The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I am a beginner and I hope I am posting this in the right place--please let me know if there is a better place for this question and I'll be happy to move it over.

At any rate, I started up a planted betta tank about a month ago. For several different reasons, I had the tank running for 2 weeks with plants but without a fish. In that time, the water parameters were as follows (I have the API master test kit): Ammonia hovering between 0 and .25ppm, nitrites 0, nitrate 0. I thought the ammonia level was odd considering there was no fish but figured maybe it had to do with the gravel (Eco Complete) or the plants (anubias, java fern, pennywort).

So, I added the betta, and Tetra Safestart. Two weeks later (today) I tested again. And got the EXACT same results! Isn't that kind of odd? I went ahead a did a 25% water change as is recommended after 2 weeks with the TSS, and my fish seems very happy and active, blowing bubbles etc.

Any advice or insight very much appreciated! I am planning on doing a bigger setup soon (29 gallon low-tech) so I am hoping to get this figured out first.

Thanks! --HD.

·
Registered
1,049 Posts
Often times, plants will cycle a tank with no noticeable parameter changes. That aside, it is odd that you have no nitrates, although, depending on your plant mass, lighting and such, that could be normal also. One thing about the api nitrate test is that you have to shake the heck out of the No.2 bottle, or you will never get a nitrate reading. Are you dosing anything for your plants, are you high light or low light? How big is your tank. Give us all the info you can think of.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi there,