The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

Let me start by saying I'm new to the Aquascaping and planted aqaurium hobby. I however have had aquariums for many years (non planted).

I recently bought a 33Gallon long tank (48"x12"x13") and want to do a lower maintenance planted tank. I'd like to have colorful community fish that dont get too large and aren't diggers. I'd also like shrimp/snails.

I have an empty fully cycled cichlid tank I'll be reusing some equipment from:
1. Filstar XP-L (3 media basket) canister filter. 350 gph flow rate(187 gph filter output with media)
2. 48" fluorescent light
3. Heater
4. Hardscape such as driftwood and rocks

So here are my questions:
1. What sort of beginner plants would thrive on a 33Long tank and would be low maintenance yet vibrant?
2. What's the best substrate to use (I'll probaby get something with nutrients like Amazonia or other soil)?
3. I dont plan on using C02, but what low tech essentials would I need for this setup to thrive?
5. I might reuse my fluorescent light but LED seems like it'd be more cost effective and look nicer. Confirm? If so what LED lights are recommended?
6. Is the flow rate of my canister filter too high? I'd aim the output at the top of the water for agitation.
7. I am planning on using hardscape from my empty cichlid tank due to the buildup of beneficial bacteria on them. Will this jump start my planted tank, and be advisable?

Thanks in advance. I am reading a lot, watching videos, and am immersing myself in this but want some advice so I dont mess up my first planted tank.

·
Registered
2,141 Posts
If everything has stayed in service and seeded (filter media etc) then there's a possibility of not having a cycle or mini cycle, but it's best to plan as though there will be.