The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I had a planted 5 gallon betta tank but everything ended up going south with it. I had a cyano outbreak that was hard to control, and my betta ended up growing a tumor and unfortunately passed. I want to redo the tank but get a bit more insight this time on how to start a proper planted tank. I am not a beginner to fishkeeping but a newbie to planted tanks.

Supplies:
Finnon Planted Plus clip on LED
Fluval stratum
Thrive liquid fert
API "liquid" CO2
Sponge filter
Air pump for circulation

Something to note is that this tank will be a betta tank again and I have very hard water. So far for plants I was just thinking of doing Ludwigia, crypt wendtii, and a banana plant or something. Any other plant recommendations would be helpful. The main things I am confused on are lighting and ferts. Before I had my lights on for 8 hours (I think, it was a while ago) with a 2 hour siesta. This seemed like way too much light because the algae and cyano went nuts. Also, I don't really know what determines how much fert I should be dosing. I know it depends on what plants I have and how many plants I have but I'm unsure of the rules there.

As for CO2, I'm aware that the "liquid" CO2 isn't all that, but I have seen a few of those CO2 setups that uses yeast, so I wonder if maybe that's an option? If not I think I'll just stick to a low tech tank. Thank you so much everyone! Looking forward to getting back into it.

·
Registered
1,687 Posts
You can always use DIY CO2, but given the chance, I'd always recommend against it and just use pressurized. I've had amazing results with pressurized. DIY was too much of a hassle unless you like that sort of 2~ week maintenance. I, like yourself, have hard water too but your Stratum will lower it by a bit, I add botanicals to my tanks too which helps it even more, and if you add CO2, all of this attribute to softening the water.