The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im completely new to the hobby, and i spent sometime reading, about the cycle, and etc. and now i have a better idea how things actually work. I wanna have a nice planted tank, and im going to be in this hobby for at least 4-5 years. I used to own a 80 galloon back 5 years ago, but life been rough, and i had to leave the hobby till now. So yes i call myself now a complete beginner, because i literally forgot everything. so far i gathered some parts, 55 galloon, fluval 407 filter, and fluval plant 3.0 light. I was reading about the co2, and the importance of it in a planted tank, and i wanna do it right the first time. Iv been reading that theres 2 brands in the market. Gla vs co2art. Gla is kinda expensive. But i wanna know your thoughts?

·
Registered
High Tech UNS 60u
2 Posts
I have a CO2art regulator and it's great, both options will be I think. I would go with whichever is cheaper for you. Make sure you get a big enough tank, I would say probably like 10 pounds for a 55 for convenience.

The whole system should include regulator, tank, co2 proof tubing, diffuser (or reactor), bubble counter, a timer for the solenoid, and a check valve to stop water reaching the regulator.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Also a newbie here. I got a co2art kit for my setup and it was easy to install and configure. It came with drop checker, regulator, tubing, bubble counter, diffuser, and tank gaskets. I bought a 5lb co2 tank on amazon and use the exchange program at my local brew n grow. It's kind of amusing to buy something new and then immediately trading it for something old without ever using it :p

·
Super Moderator
15,777 Posts
Welcome back!

Iv been reading that theres 2 brands in the market. Gla vs co2art. Gla is kinda expensive. But i wanna know your thoughts?