The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

From everything I've read, this stuff is more common in newly established tanks due to high silicates. My tank has been running for over a year and I still can't get rid of it. This makes me think that my tap water is the problem but how do I fix it? Is is best to have a phosphate/silicate remover in my canester filter? should I get a nerite and otto cleaning crew? I've seen several threads from people having the same issue but no one has come up with a solution. If someone has had success battling this stuff please let me know how because I am tired of my tank looking like pond scum!

·
Registered
11 Posts
I have the same thing in my tank. I am new to the hobby. Had to have the EDGE when I saw it. I did swap the lights out for LEDs as was suggested here.

What I have noticed is the only place I have the brown algea is directly under the lights. You can even see in the photo where one leaf shades the other there is a line where the algea starts to grow.

Attachments

·
Registered
993 Posts
Otocinclus love brown algae by the way. :)
True, but these are also very sensitive fish to tank transfers and water conditions. I only recommend them to folks that I know are experienced with more sensitive fishies.

I bought 10 oto's earlier this week. Checked the LFS' stock, and all seemed healthy. 2 hours of drip acclimation, 1 drop per second, double checked pH and temp to make sure the water parameter on the bucket has matched that of the tank. 1 died about 4 hours after the transfer. 2 didn't look too good after the transfer, but now seem to be doing well in the hospital tank.

·
Registered
993 Posts
maybe you guys will not believe me i had an otocinclus in my tank...he ate/damaged all my valisneria...