The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Tonight (or technically I guess this morning) my aquarium has completely stunned me.

My 90gal, heavy planted, shrimp/snail/pleco/goby tank is full of 1/2" baby plecos.

Somehow I completely missed spawning, egg laying, tending, etc. I guess he must have picked a really good nesting spot...

I'm assuming the fry are Calico BNP. I obtained the parents as juvies from saganco last June and apparently they've grown up.

There is a small chance that these are rubber nose plecos which share the tank. I have NO experience with these fry, they look like BNPs to me, but they're too young for me to say 100%.

Someone let me know if I'm wrong and they're actually RNP.

·
Registered
6,186 Posts
No answer as to species sorry, but had to post w/congrats on the spawn!!

I have a mature pair of LFABN and three juveniles believed to be females in a 110g tank. I'm on my forth parent reared spawn of angels but so far no signs of a pleco spawn. Like you I probably won't know they have young until they really start moving around. Heavy plant growth and several pieces of driftwood give them plenty of room to hide.

Congrats again on the happy tank!

·
Registered
1,079 Posts
There is a small chance that these are rubber nose plecos which share the tank. I have NO experience with these fry, they look like BNPs to me, but they're too young for me to say 100%.

Someone let me know if I'm wrong and they're actually RNP.

Yes, they're Calico BN's for sure. Looks like a split heavy on the albino genes but they'll change as they get older.

I have a mature pair of LFABN and three juveniles believed to be females in a 110g tank. I'm on my forth parent reared spawn of angels but so far no signs of a pleco spawn. Like you I probably won't know they have young until they really start moving around. Heavy plant growth and several pieces of driftwood give them plenty of room to hide.