The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I'm new to all this and brought some tropical fish, was told these we're mollys but I'm not sure they are. As looked at pictures on the Internet and they look like platies. Could someone help with this?. Thanks.

·
Registered
776 Posts
Both species are pretty similar, and your fish appear very young so that makes it harder, but I'm leaning towards mollies.

·
Registered
13 Posts
The slightly more upturned mouth and the longer dorsal fins lead me to say mollies as well, but no 100 positive, maybe 80%.

·
Premium Member
1,875 Posts
If those are juvenile fish, like the appear, that tank doesn't have anywhere near enough swimming room for them. Common mollies can get 3 inches long and a 10 gallon tank is usually the minimum recommended.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Thank you, yes have few different colours in these and some are younger , thank you for this.

If those are juvenile fish, like the appear, that tank doesn't have anywhere near enough swimming room for them. Common mollies can get 3 inches long and a 10 gallon tank is usually the minimum recommended.
Hi, thank you for the message, there and only few small ones in there, the tank is custom made and tall, it is a 140L tank so plenty big enough for the fish i have in there as I checked all this out before getting the fish. Thank you.
I don't think I've ever seen a silver platy. My money's on mollies.
Thank you, I can try to take a clearer picture if that helps, thank you.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Hi, thank you for the message, there and only few small ones in there, the tank is custom made and tall, it is a 140L tank so plenty big enough for the fish i have in there as I checked all this out before getting the fish. Thank you.