The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
Yesterday I purchased a Fluval Aquasky for my brand new 20 gallon aquarium. Now, I’m a complete beginner- I’ve never done a planted aquarium before. The light has a pro mode, which is confusing to me. I’m not exactly sure what are the best plant growth settings, as there are almost no forum topics detailing this. I followed the example of the only forum topic I could find, but I personally believe that the time the light is on was too much. I also want to recreate the feeling of sunrise and sunset in the aquarium, which is the main thing I liked from the set-up I saw. If someone could guide me to optimizing this light for plant growth, I would really appreciate it.

Attachments

·
Registered
13,083 Posts
Well there really isn't a way to give you a correct setting really. Too many variables..
Best advice would be to start out low and watch your plants. Then adj accordingly.

i know sounds simplistic but ..

Also adj color to what you like..You can always do a global dimming.
Pretty sure that controller is capable of it..

Say you like all channels at 100% but it's a new tank so you set the overall output at 50%.

I could suggest you start at 1/2W /gal for 6 hours or any number of shot in the dark settings..
assuming the 15-24" model at 12Watts.. No real issue running it full for that period...

24-36W model is 18W..so adj accordingly.. Prob best to start w/ 10W (about 50% overall)

My guesses should get others to respond.

·
Registered
146 Posts
I wouldn't go overboard with all the different settings for colors like you have above.
Start out simple and adjust from there. Equal white/blue/red/green light during your "on" time.
They have a preset "plant growth" setting which is a good starting point.