The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all! Need some help here, I'm brand new to planted tanks. I have been doing a lot of research over the last few months and have decided to go for it! I have setup my 55g with a dirted base with red clay and capped it with Black Diamond grit (20-40).
The log pictured is one I actually pulled from a river I fish often. I dried it out, cleaned it up, cut it down to size and am currently waiting for it to become fully waterlogged while cycling the tank (second picture).
I built my own light fixture. It is a 3 bulb, T-8 with two 32W bulbs and one 40W.

Anyway, enough with specifics, any ideas as to plants or possibly additional hardscape or direction for this tank?!

I'm thinking I want to grow a big amazon sword in the back-right corner behind the wood and then maybe some moss draping off of the thinner branches. Beyond that, I have no set ideas...I'm curious to see what ideas others have.
Thanks everyone!

Attachments

·
Registered
1,926 Posts
I would bank up substrate on the corner where your driftwood is placed. Also having more substrate at the back to give more depth overall would be good.
In terms of planting, any carpet plant as foreground would be good. In the left (of the photo) mid height plants like AR Mini would be nice. To be honest I'm not a huge fan of swords and I would think something like Cyperus helferi would be better (this is total personal opinion though). Also adding some Anubias species or Bucephalandra species would look really amazing alongside some moss, that driftwood piece is spectacular.
Anyway subscribed as well! Excited to see how this turns out.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I would bank up substrate on the corner where your driftwood is placed. Also having more substrate at the back to give more depth overall would be good.