The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys

I just moved all my stuff into my Eheim tank.
I am not very good at scaping, so any advice would be greatly appreciated in scaping my tank out so that it looks pleasing to the eye.

I know the rocks are an eyesore, i will remove them but please help me rescape this tank.

Plants included:
back left: baby tears
back centre: Ambulia

centre: Lilaeopsis
front : HC
front left: Glosso
middle right: Anubias / Java fern
middle: Tiger Lily

Christmas moss / Riccia / Java fern - on driftwood

and a closeup

Any advice appreciated!

Many thanks

Daniel

·
Registered
220 Posts
Well you've got a nice selection of plants. I think what is not a good as it could be is that the tank looks kind of sparse and spread too thin. There isn't really a focal point, so you eye doesn't have an anchor, so to speak. I personally don't think the rocks are an eyesore, but I think that if you keep them, you need to add a lot more of them for continuity. Darker colored rocks would probably look nice. You could split the tall stems in back into two clumps, and put them nearer the corners, maybe following the golden rectangle for spacing, and have a valley/canyon in between so you can see to the back of the tank and create a lot of depth. I would also go for a larger, branchier piece of wood to fill up more of the water column, or maybe some large rocks to do the same. Essentially anything that could create some vertical space usage. I might try to do a little photoshop work on your photos to show what I mean with placement and such...

What may help you is to look up other aquascapes and see which one really catches your breath, then try to recreate it to the best of your ability, in your own way. You could post again on here with that in mind and have people help you achieve that goal.

Here is a great video of a bunch of ridiculous aquascapes: