The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
223 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So I recently received a Finnex Ray2 and it sure does live up to it's slogan of "Let There Be Light."

However....I'm not sure if it is the right kind of light. I am a total noob on all of the technical lighting stuff but I have read my fair share of discussions here regarding requirements for red plants. I realize that the old school folks were able (and still are) to grow red plants under tube lighting. I also realize that a multi-bulb t5 fixture would allow me much customization in order to achieve this...so I'm considering picking up a t5 ho fixture and testing this out on my 20 long.

I was previously able to plants to turn red near the surface with spiral CFLs....having switched to LEDs I am seeing better light penetration near the substrate and a better spread and coverage of light throughout the aquarium, however I have not yet seen the plants turn red like I was hoping. This could be because before I received the Ray2, I trimmed all of my stem plants (R. colorata, R. indica, R. macranda, P. stellatus, L. aromatica, L. repens)...I'll wait a little longer to see what happens near the surface of the water.

So on a quest for an inexpensive quad fixture that would offer more flexibility over a one or two bulb fixture, I found this

Specifications:
Dimensions - 24.00" x 13.00" x 3.00"
Includes 4x 6500K Grow bulbs
Supports standard T5 HO 24W bulbs
Total power - 96 watts
Power cord - 5 ft
Contoured reflector for max light output
Can be hung horizontal or vertical
Built-in electronic ballasts for high energy efficiency
Plug and play ballasts saves time and hassle
Built-in hanging wire for easy installation
Convenient access door to replace parts.
Body color - textured black
110V compatibility only
24W - 2000 lumen per bulb for 2ft
90 Day Warranty