The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Heya,

I've been trying to troubleshoot as best I can but my shrimp are all dropping off and I'm really not sure what to try next. One of them was berried and I found her dead this morning too. :( I'm really sorry for coming on here being a noob when I've no experience to contribute myself, but I've tried to do all my basic reading and feel like I'm not getting anywhere.

Tank details:
50L/11 gallons
Temp 22-23C / 71-73F (analog thermometers one at each end of tank)
KH: 4
GH: 8-9
Ammonia/nitrite/nitrate seem to always read 0, will expand on this later, tested at least twice a week.
No added CO2
Since tank has been running I've had pH anywhere from 6.8 to 8!
Sponge filter
Fine gravel over a substrate that shouldn't affect parameters (can't remember what sort exactly but it definitely said wouldn't mess with my parameters :/ )
Tank mates include 5 ember tetras and a cappucino snail (bought in a moment of optimism where I didn't find any dead shrimp for a whole 2 weeks and thought I'd solved things....clearly not and feel like an idiot now). There was a nerite but that seems to have literally vanished. Not even a body! In the tank or outside it...

The tank is planted with Tropica's "easy" level 1-2-Grow plants that are meant to be lab grown & shrimp safe. Other stuff in the tank is some dragon rock, a couple of tiny pieces of driftwood and spiderwood, 1 new resin ornament, and 2 resin ornaments from my sisters old betta tank (they've been dry about 5 years so not sure anything unpleasant could be living in/on them).