The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
400 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am planning on putting a few angels (among other fish) in my 56g when I get it up and running. I wanted to get a canister filter but I'm not experienced with these at all. I was looking at this one:
http://www.truaqua.com/aquatop-canister-filter-cf-300.html

My question is- will this create too much of a current for the angels? Is there a way to keep the filtration capacity yet tone down the current? This tank will probably be fully stocked so I do want as much filtration as the angels can tolerate.

·
Registered
803 Posts
Nope, they'll be fine with that much flow. You can just adjust the spray bar/output to focus in a different direction. I have my spraybar facing the left side of the tank instead of shooting out in the middle, keeps the CO2 levels in the tank near 15-20ppm, so the plants are doing better and there isn't too much CO2 so my angels, leaf fish, ctenopoma, eel, and otos are all doing well.

Also, you can never over-filter, so the more the better!

·
Registered
1,498 Posts
With my canister I have a flow control, you can dial it back a little if you need to.

Also, I have angel fish in a 75. I have 2 Cascade 1000's (rated for 100gal each) the current doesnt FAZE them at all.

·
Registered
400 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hmmm.... good to know! But the difference in your tank, Jason, and mine, is yours is a long one, and mine is a column- 30x18x24. So there is less of a distance from the spray bar to any point in the tank.

Maybe strategically placed furniture; i.e. driftwood, will help.

I really wanted an even bigger canister- like the CF-400UV Canister Filter. It's 370 gph, has a UV sterilizer, and is rated for up to a 125 gallon tank. But my first concern is the angels and their well-being so I was going to go a step down.

·
Registered
1,105 Posts
Get yourself the bigger filter ;)