The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
130 Gallon High Tech Under Construction
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, thanks for checking out my build. This build is about setting up my first truly large tank and about coming back into fresh water after a few years in salt. I plan to use 3D printing where possible in this build since I run a small 3D printing business and have a passion for that. I also plan to use some tricks I learned in salt water, and my creativity as an engineer to do some fun stuff with this tank.

Some background: I used to keep a low tech tank a few years back and then jumped over to salt water. I had a 20g nano reef through college. I graduated 2 years back and recently purchased my first house. Finally having the space to expand I wanted to get up over the 100 gallon mark but I was ready for a change again and wanted to get back to freshwater. Finances dictated that I would need to find a used tank to get over 100 gallons.

Onto my first build update: I had a personal connection come through on a used 130g (72"x18"x23") tank and stand. Only problem was that it was a drilled reef ready tank with dual over flows. The tank and stand together was $400 and within an hour of my house. The stand was very nice and just needed cosmetic work. I decided I would take it and would either run a sump or convert the tank from a reef ready tank back into something more traditional. Here is the tank for the first time on the stand in my house:

I ended up deciding to go ahead and covert it over to a more traditional tank, mostly because I want this set up as a peninsula tank and its only 18" wide, so I wanted the most width out of it as possible. This means removing the over flows and blocking off the drilled holes (maybe, I may still use those, stay tuned). First was cutting away the plastic as much as possible: