The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Background: I am a poor graduate student and therefore decided to de-rim an AGA 5 gal instead of buying a new tank. I am trying to go for an iwagumi-ish scape.

Equipment: Aquatek mini paintball CO2 system, Aquaclear 20 (now need to replace after dropping it today while cleaning), two different Ikea lamps with 6500k cfls, craigslist video cabinent for a stand, ecocomplete substrate, seiryu stone, cardboard painted black for a backdrop.

Flora: Dwarf Baby Tears and Blyxa japonica

Progression from day 1:

Why my stand has light emitting from within:Growing my clippings!

·
Registered
588 Posts
That's really nice. I will say though that thermometer is awful. I had the same one and happened across some reviews that said it was off by 5 degrees all the time. Tested my tank it was in and sure enough it was off by 5 degrees.

Did you do a dry start for your HC? How much did that CO2 setup cost? I am guessing you have to run it manually?

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That's really nice. I will say though that thermometer is awful. I had the same one and happened across some reviews that said it was off by 5 degrees all the time. Tested my tank it was in and sure enough it was off by 5 degrees.

Did you do a dry start for your HC? How much did that CO2 setup cost? I am guessing you have to run it manually?
I don't even use a thermometer anymore. My plants seem to do well no matter the temp and I don't keep fish or shrimp because I like to dose a high amount of co2!

I did start with a dry start which is usually how I begin to establish some root structure. Plants seem to transition really well with ferts and co2.