The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to shrimp, having just added three Amanos to a 15G planted setup a month or so ago. Other inhabitants are 9 neons, 5 white clouds, and 4 harlequin rasboras. The Amanos were added to help keep algae under control and have been doing a fantastic job.

Anyway, my question concerns their behavior. For the first couple of months, they just seemed to do their own thing...constantly scavenging on the driftwood, plants, rocks, and substrate. Over the last couple of days, the activity level of the two smaller shrimp has increased dramatically. These guys buzz around the tank at amazing speed (compared to what they did for the first month) only stopping occasionally to graze. I might be able to make the argument that one shrimp is chasing the other, but that might be a stretch. I've never seen any of the fish pay any attention to them.

Once the algae started to get thin, I made sure to add a few extra flakes at feeding time. It didn't take them long to figure out where the filter blows them, so I don't think this is a feeding issue.

API liquid test kits say GH=6, KH=8, NH3=0, NO2=0, NO3=10ppm, pH=7.8 (steady), and temp is 76 F. 28 watts of T5NO for 10 hours/day, no CO2, no Excel, no ferts. 25% weekly water changes.

Is this behavior normal, or indicative of a potential problem?

Thanks.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the response. I was under the impression that Amanos wouldn't breed without brackish conditions. Without googling again, perhaps it's just that the offspring aren't viable in freshwater?

·
Registered
5,116 Posts
They will breed in fresh water, but the larvae they lay has to make its way into freshwater fairly quickly after the eggs hatch, then they live in saltwater until they go through like a metamorphosis and then turn into shrimp and make their way back to fresh water. So they will breed fine but no viable babies.

·
Banned