The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,445 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone have good info on this plant? i saw it at petsmart yesterday and though... Man i cant pass this up, so i got it, i thought the reds and pinks looked very nice.

·
Registered
254 Posts
I couldn't find much information on it when I bought it, but it is a good plant from my experience. In my case it is not a fast grower and seems to be more bushy, but that could be an error on my end since I am still learning. The only substrate nutrients it gets is from seachem root tabs and basic liquid ferts (Leaf Zone and Comprehensive). Mine started out pretty small and took over an end of the tank in a couple months. It seems to be responding better with CO2 injection now.

I had to thin a lot of it out because it got covered in BBA, but it is not lost. I found this plant actually grows pretty well emersed too, so anything covered in BBA gets to grow out and the algae dies :). I attached an older picture before the algae (ignore the sad looking red ludwigia that brought the algae with it). I hope this helps a little with my lack of specific details.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Hey chevyguy, I've had my plant for 2 weeks now and it doesn't seem to be doing much at all in terms of growth. Some of the leaves are also melting and curling..did your leaves melt initially? (I dose excel everyday) A lot of rooting is also growing from the stem itself.

Just curious if your initial leaves melted away/fell off initially and then it grew newer better leaves.

BTW i have medium LED lighting and also aquasoil.

·
Registered
254 Posts
Hey chevyguy, I've had my plant for 2 weeks now and it doesn't seem to be doing much at all in terms of growth. Some of the leaves are also melting and curling..did your leaves melt initially? (I dose excel everyday) A lot of rooting is also growing from the stem itself.