The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Tankers! This is my first post here. I'm a Real Noob only about 8 mths of experience.

These are the details of my Low Tech Tank:
120 gal ( standard 48x24x24) Glass Tops
SunSun 704B (525 gah)
Hydor fan (425 gah)
MicMol Aqua Air 1200 (LED 96w) https://www.micmol.com/download/G2 Aqua Air Catalog.pdf (setup on a 8hr ramp up and ramp down, staying within the Red, Green, Blue Spectrum minimal white)

Eco-complete soil (2.5' - 3" depth)
Dosing with Thrive once a week, one day after WC
No Roots yet (but open to suggestions, I've looked at Thrive's Tabs)
Dosing Equilibrium on WC day (more on why to come)
roughly 30% WC every week
I'm using Tap Water
Tank runs right at 76 degrees

Bio load:
12 Rummy-nosed Tetras
1 Black Scaled Betta
5 Assassin Snails (because I'm a noob and didn't handle the pond snail on in coming plants)

Plants:
2 Amazon Swords
10 Jungle Val, Corkscrew Val
15 Cryptocoryne Wendtii Red
15 Dwarf Sagittaria
10 Hygrophila (don't know which species but I know it's two different ones)
1 Pearlweed
1 Pennywort (propagated once)
1 Bacopa Caroliniana (propagated once)
2 Alternanthera reineckii (regular)
3 Java Fern
1 Red Tiger Lotus
1 Gaint Hair Grass

Testing:
I test every-other day, these are the parameters as of late..
Ph: 8.2 - 8.3
Nh3: 0 ppm
No2: 0 ppm
No3: 0 ppm
Kh: 14 dkh
Gh: 3 dgh (it was 2 dgh that's why I started this week dosing Equilibrium, goal is to raise it 1 degree a week until I hit the target zone of 3 - 6)

Fe: 0.01 - 0.02 (This has me stumped because the only 2 additives I'm use having Ferric & DTPA Iron)
Po4: .33 ppm

Wow that was alot! haha
Before I move on those numbers have been solid for well over a 2 mths. I've felt as though I've had decent growth with minimal beginner issues, moving on, done a trim, golden! But...