The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So, I've been doing 50% water changes every week for the last 4-5 months on my 29g planted tank, which has been running for 2 years. I feed my fish every other day and I'm careful to not overfeed them and make sure the consume all the food. I have an algae outbreak that has started within the last 2-3 weeks and I have no idea why. Some blue-green algae is the newest addition, I've started to do water changes every week and a half, instead of every week, to up the nitrates and I manually push water to the blue-green algae, I was thinking the growth maybe due to there being a dead spot. The blue-green algae isn't everywhere, it's only in a couple locations. 95% of my plants have algae on their leaves and I don't know what to do. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

I use the API freshwater master test kit, so some of the color values appeared to be between the guide's color scale.

Water Parameters:
pH: 6.8-7.0
Ammonia: 0ppm
Nitrite: 0ppm
Nitrate: 10-20ppm (usually its 5-10ppm, I thought maybe I was changing the water too frequently and not allowing for enough nitrates. I read that could cause blue-green algae?)
Substrate: Controsoil Normal Soil - UNS - Red (rescaped my tank 3-4 months ago)

Temp: 74 F / 23 C
Photoperiod: 7hrs, originally was 8hrs.
I use the Aquarium Co-op easy green liquid fert. 3 pumps a week after water changes

Set up:
Fluval aquasky LED 600mm
Settings:
Red: 100%
Blue: 100%
Green: 100%
White: 100%
I was thinking I may want to reduce the intensity?

Fluval 206 canister filter, I forgot the type of heater I bought.

Flora:
2x Anubias sp.
6x Golden anubias nana, its began to melt. I felt it was rhizome rot so I moved them to allow more water flow.
Jungle Val
Java Moss
5-6x Java ferns
3-4x dwarf chain sword
1x melon sword (I have not seen new growth in over a year :()
1x amazon sword (Same story as melon sword)
2x crytpocoryne wendtii