The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to keeping a planted tank. I started my 20 gal high (20x10x18) as a fish only tank about a year ago and have slowly started migrating towards keeping plants as well over the past 3-4 months. It started out OK for a while using the standard light fixture w/ a 15 day aquaglo bulb over some anacharis and hornwort (12 hour photo period). Slow but reliable growth from both but no serious algae.

More recently - about a 2 months ago - I got ambitious and upgraded to an AH Supply 36 watt DIY fixture and added some more plants - a large sword (ozelot, I think - dark brown spotted leaves that become more green over time), a smaller oriental sword, replaced the old anacharis with new (old was starting to look "stumpy", lots of new, but very short growth almost looking like a ball, looking back I assume this was nutrient deficieny as I wasn't fertilizing and I have inert substrate) and corkscrew val. i got rid of the horwort. I also started feritlizing ever week and half to 2 weeks with Terta Plant FloraPride (0-0-3 mix with just Fe and K).

Ever since adding the light and plants I've basically got myself an algae farm. Started out with green spot algae on the glass and the origianal leaves of the ozelot sword. Lately it's become a free for all with black beard algae, thread algae and some sort of reddish/brownish algae. Traveled for Thanksgiving and came back to 6 inch long threads growing off of plants, decoations, and off of the substrate and shorter brownish thread or hair algae completely covering the original val.

I've had some decent plant growth the whole time along (val sent out 2 new sister plants, ozelot is good for at least 1 new leaf a week, same with oriental) but the algae just seems to be outgrowing the plants.