The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all.
This is a tank I'm contemplating purchasing and turning into a discus/semi planted tank. The tank measures 120" long by 24"/18" wide by 42" tall. It is a concave style tank.
Can you all offer me some advice/suggestions on how to tackle this large a tank and really turn it into something to be proud of? I've got 20 years experience with saltwater reef tanks (got burned out a year ago though) and want to create a very nice discus/planted tank to relax in front of.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Could you offer me suggestions on proper plants that can grow under low tech conditions and those that grow tall and wide? By low tech, I mean that I'm not sure I want to initiate Co2 right now, nor do I have the diligence for fertilizer dosing unless there is a product that has all the necessary fertilizers in one liquid easy enough to pour into the tank every so often.
I do have 250 watt metal halide lighting (6500K and 10,000K)along with T5 lighting to cover the length of the tank fairly well. So lighting is not an issue.
In terms of filtration, I was planning on turning an old 150 gallon tank into a sump with plenty of wet/dry filtration and some mechanical filtration, along with two Fluval FX5 filters also with bio media, mechanical, and chemical filtration. I'll try to push about 10 X turnover through the tank for sufficient flow.
If anyone has some photos or links to other freshwater tanks of this size and especially height, I would be very grateful for a link to them.
Anyway, here is the tank, a quick rendering of the cabinetry I'll be personally building for it, and a pic with one of the manufacturers employees standing next to it for scale.
Let me know what you think.

[/quote]

·
Registered
206 Posts