The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, first I will like to say that I am new to the forum; however, that does not mean that I am new to the fish keeping hobby. At my previous house, I had a 1000g FW Cichlid tank and now that I have upgraded to a larger house with a larger basement, I believe it is time to upgrade to a larger tank as well. My 1000g tank was a DIY build and so will this new tank. For the new tank I would really like to have a nice aquascape with large pieces of driftwood and beautiful plants and I do not want to have another Cichlid tank. I was wondering if I could pull together some stocking ideas to make this the centerpiece of the house! My friend from work is currently getting rid of his 500 gallon tank and therefore I was able to have his fire eel. The only requirement would have to be fish who are compatible with the fire eel. Thank you in advance!

·
Registered
114 Posts
School of tinfoil barbs, bala sharks, iridescent sharks, some giant guoramis, redtail cats, shovelnose cats, etc. Or you could go to your local lake and fish out some bass, bluegill, sunfish, various catfish, maybe some koi. Or you could do a koi only tank with about 100 white cloud minnows as dither fish.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The tank does not have any water in it yet, therefore I can not provide the water parameters to you! I wanted to get a general stocking idea of plants and fish before I start the cycling process.

·
Registered
1,413 Posts
The inside dimensions for the tank are 26' long x 4' 6" wide x 3' tall!
that sounds like an amazing tank! may I ask why only 4 1/2 feet wide? sheets of plywood are 4 or 8 feet depending on which way you spin them...