The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I’ve been looking into buying ada aqua soil as my substrate and can much more easily and cheaply find the v1 over the v2. What are the differences/benefits to the v2? Does anyone have personal experiences?

also how does Ada aqua soil compare to others such as tropica or fluval

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
How long do you think dirt would last compared to aqua soil? What are the benefits of each, may be adding co2

·
Registered
43 Posts
How long do you think dirt would last compared to aqua soil? What are the benefits of each, may be adding co2
I’ll be honest, I’m not an expert. I can’t scientifically explain why it’s better. Just a bunch of sources on YouTube and you hear “Walstad method” - Diana Walstad was a lady who like published multiple books on how to properly balance a planted aquarium tank and her #1 substrate was Miracle Grow Organic.

It’s a little messy to set up but once it is set up, it’s the same as every other tank.

Google “Diana Walstad” and then also research the Miracle Grow organic on YouTube.

·
Premium Member
1,911 Posts
The "Walstad Method" is a specific method for a very low tech tank. It's certainly a viable method for low tech but it's not the way most people want to go with a planted tank. The OP has also stated that he plans to add CO2.

·
Registered
43 Posts
The "Walstad Method" is a specific method for a very low tech tank. It's certainly a viable method for low tech but it's not the way most people want to go with a planted tank. The OP has also stated that he plans to add CO2.
Yes but the “Walstad method” doesn’t gatekeep you from turning the low-tech tank to high-tech.

“Viable” is also not the word I would use when multiple youtubers and people who make a living off of functioning planted aquariums are saying dirt is #1.