The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All,

First time aquascaper here. This is my first attempt and absolutely loved the process of planning, buying, collecting and scaping!

My collection is as follows:

Tank
- ADA 30C Cube Garden

Light
- ADA Aquasky

Filtration
- Ehiem Canister Filter (2213)
- DoAqua Inflow
- DoAqua Outflow
- ADA 10mm and 12mm pipework

CO2 System
- CO2PRO Compact Regulator
- CO2PRO 0.82L Cylinder
- ADA Check Valve
- ADA High Pressure Tubing
- DoAqua Bubble Counter
- ADA 180 degree Tubing Bend
- DoAqua Diffuser
- CAL clip n drop checker

Heating
- Hydor In-line Heater (200w)
- ADA thermometer

Substrate
- Penac P
- Penac W
- ADA Bacter 100
- ADA Power Sand S
- ADA Aqua Soil
- White Sand

Hardscape
- Seiryu Stone

Plants
- HC
- NEED SUGGESTIONS TO COMPLIMENT MY HARDSCAPE PLEASE!!!!! :)

Tank hardscape was setup on the 29th of April.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
HC was planted on 3rd of May. Tank was filled straight after

The sand at the front right of the tank was disturbed while I was filling the tank (as seen below) :( Luckily it didn't take that long to clean that area up.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Week 1

pH: 6.0
Ammonia: 8 ppm
Nitrite: 5 ppm
Water Temp: 26 degrees
Water Change: 40% Everyday
Fertilser Dosing: None

Lighting Time: 8 hrs
CO2 Rate: 2 bps

Comments
- At about Day 4, the tank started getting traces of what could be thread algae on some planted patches of HC. The algae has since spread across the whole tank and long strands of algae can now be seen hanging off the stones and even on the sand. The algae is also starting to turn brown. I have lowered photo time to 4 hours as of today.

- Some of the HC patches have faded to a light brown.

- Water is still slightly cloudy (I do have Purigen in my canister filter).

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Week 2

Water Temp: 24.5 degrees
Water Change: 40% Every 3rd Day