The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Getting back into the hobby after a 5 year hiatus with a bang!
Like all great decisions, I impulse bought this 40g breeder at the Petco $/gal sale. I had a low-tech tank back when I was a much more poor student but, with more space in my house and (this time) access to a car, I figured I’d go big. So this will be my first attempt at a high tech tank.

Hardscape: is a mix of rocks I bought from a local landscaper (brought a bottle of vinegar with me to test each one) and driftwood I collected from the rivers and creeks in my area. The wood was scrubbed clean, soaked in water, and then baked at 475F for >1 hour. My LFSs have very limited wood choices, all of them are very basic and boring, and they charge incredibly high prices for them. I figured I’d take the risk with scavenging.

Substrate/Plants: between the rocks is Fluorite Red. What a PITA it was to rinse! This is predominately for aesthetic reasons. I plan to have Anubias, Java fern, Java moss, and Buces on the hardscape.

Behind the rocks is a base of Fluorite (for height) which will be topped with ADA Aquasoil Ver. 2. I plan to have a number of stemmed plants here but haven’t decided which.

The foreground will be quartz sand. I may hide some ADA or Fluorite around the base of the hardscape for Cryptocoryne, etc.

Maybe it’s a waste, but I’m not crazy about having carpeting plant at this point. I do like the idea of a cascading Hydrocotyle tripartita, though

Lighting: Sansi 15w grow lights x2. I own the 36w version of these bulbs for my house plants and I love the light color and results I’ve gotten. Using the Rotala Butterfly calculator for PAR, I think these two 15w bulbs with a reflector should get me to 100+ PAR.

CO2: CO2Art kit with an inline atomizer + 5lbs CO2

Filter: Sun Sun 304b

Wood Lighting Tree Window Art