The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So this just occurred to me when I had a friend ask me how my aquarium is so clear and free of algae, and I thought I'd share it. I've been using high lighting in my planted tank for almost two months now, and just recently started using CO2 a little over a week ago, and have never had an issue other than when I first set the tank up. I think the secret might just be the purigen I am using in my HOB filters? The tank has been setup for about two years now, and during the first 6 months I did have issues with nitrate and algae, and ever since I started using the Purigen, I've never had an issue with excessive nitrates and/or algae. Anyone else have any similar experiences with this product?

·
Registered
295 Posts
I use this in my reef tank and it does the job pretty well.. in a planted tank it'd remove a lot of goodies for the plants, no?

In my experience algae can easily be prevented with correct dosing and CO2 if you have a high light planted tank, then again, I am happy it works out for you this way :p

·
Registered
379 Posts
Pics or it didn't happen.

Purigen will remove organic compounds before they are able to degrade into ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate etc but will not directly remove them. It is very safe to use in planted tanks.

I've run Purigen for YEARS and still seen algae. It's job is to polish water nicely, particularly useful with tannin staining (leaching driftwood), not prevent algae so much. Just so happens it does have a potential role to play in reducing algae levels in terms of 'capping' nutrient levels so they don't build due to nitrification etc in combination with your dosing schedule.

I wouldn't bet on Purigen being the one factor that prevented algae in your case though.. Many other variables at play also.

·
Registered
132 Posts
For the most part, algae comes and goes at random. The type of algae bloom you get is mostly random.