The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to pressurized CO2 and a tank of this size, so bare with me. I'm trying to figure out if my equipment isn't working properly, or my expectations are out of line, or if I'm simply confused/missing something...?

I have an 140 gallon (48x24x29) which I've recently set up. CO2 is being injected/mixed via an AquaMedic Reactor 1000. Water flow is (downwards) via the outlet of a new Eheim 2217 (there's another 2217 and a 2213 on a surface skimmer rounding out the filtration & circulation). Right now my bubble count is 5-6 per second. This seems to be right about the reactor's limit for the flow rate; there are large bubbles of CO2 at the top and a higher feed rate causes buildup of a true "layer" of gas at the top.

This bubble rate strikes me as high and yet, it can't seem to keep up. The CO2 solenoid is on a PinPoint controller and has yet to shut off (yes, I have it plugged into the right outlet and no, neither are stuck). The pH drops a bit over night towards my target, but actually rises slowly throughout the day while the lights are on.

pH is about 6.6 (maybe 6.5x) nighttime and ~6.7 at the end of the photoperiod. Tank's kH is about 3.5 degrees, which is in line with our tap water here. While this would suggest 20-26 ppm CO2, I measure it as only half that; 10-13 ppm (both via a drop checker and a Red Sea CO2 test kit). There is driftwood leaching tannins into the water, so I'm not that all that surprised that the kH-CO2-pH relationship is off.

The pH probe is new and matches two-point calibration, so I don't suspect it. I don't have a reference stock to test against my kH kit, but things are in line with my municipal water quality reports. Are CO2 tests worthless? I could see me botching one attempt, but two different measurements repeated several times...?