The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi,

After mulling over whether to get a GLA GRO regulator from the US, a 5lb tank, and the cost of conversion to CDN, plus duty and shipping, I decided to go a potentially less wise route and bought an Ista Professional 1L kit. This size tank better fits my daughter's room where it will be used for her planted 60-F tank.

I'm completely new to planted tanks and pressurized CO2 systems. While I did a great deal of research, including reading Darkblade's excellent primer on the subject, I did encounter something with the regulator that I'm not sure is normal.

After connecting the regulator to the CO2 tank, plumbing the lines, then opening the tank valve, I loosened the [STRIKE]regulator[/STRIKE] needle valve about 1/16th of a turn and the CO2 started coming out quite rapidly through the bubble counter (probably 20 bps)! In order to get 1 bps (or less), it felt like I had to pretty much close the [STRIKE]regulator[/STRIKE] needle valve. I don't think this can be normal because if it is, adjusting the regulator might require a VERY light touch. I'd have to check in the morning but I believe the first gauge is reading 900psi and the 2nd gauge, which I assume is the working pressure, is reading 40psi. That seems high to me but I'm not sure if it is possible to reduce the working pressure with this regulator.

So I guess my question is whether it is normal to only have to turn the [STRIKE]regulator[/STRIKE] needle valve a degree or two to get 1 bps. I'm going to play with it some more tomorrow but any insight would be much appreciated.

Thanks guys!

P.S.