The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm new to the whole planted tank scene and I'm in the process of seting up a 55 gallon tank. I was looking into buying a Magnum 250 for the decent reviews I've seen elsewhere. I've been browsing. The forums on here lately and I've seen :icon_evil comments for using it as a main filter. So now I'm not so sure lol. What are some good canister filters within the $100 range? Thanks for any suggestions everyone.

·
Registered
1,846 Posts
I think your $100 price range may be a little low, but shop around. Like anything else, you get what you pay for. As for a specific brand, there are quite a few quality brands out there. Fluval is popular. So is Eheim. There are others. A quality one will last almost forever.

Anything decent will work just fine. Just about everyone has their favorite brand. Often this is the brand they use.

·
Registered
2,940 Posts
buy a filter that is a little bigger than you think you will need. if you find a filter rater for a 55, put it down and find the next one up. lots of flow is helpfull in a PT.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks guys. I found a fluval 305 on amazon $110. How does this compare to other brands around tghe same price range? I just want to get the best for my money without draining my bank account?

·
Registered
221 Posts
If you're wanting a decent enough filter for cheapest price, check into the SunSun/Perfect line. Talk about them here. The HW-302 can still be found, $50 for 264 gal/hr. Ebay seller normal list it as a "3 stage canister filter". Amazon has a Aquatop CF-300 that look exactly like the HW-302 but has a different box.

·
Registered
537 Posts