The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im just now getting into shrimp, I've been keeping ghost shrimp for two months now. I haven't had my hand at any of the more exotic shrimp yet though. They've been doing good up until recently.

Here lately they've been dying, Im down to 5 left. Maybe Im not feeding them the correct food, I've had to switch to dry food because there's no algae left in the tank. I've been feeding them sinking bottom feeder pellets and algae tabs, sometimes they pick up the regular fish pellets if the neons don't get it in time. Water parameters seem to be fine, PH-7.2, moderate hardness, nitrite-0,nitrate-0,ammonia-0. The only thing is that there's no heater for this tank and it can get pretty cold in the house at night. Pretty hot in the day for that matter too.

I've read through several threads and various websites but, there are still a few questions I have. Does the care between shrimp vary greatly? How long can you expect shrimp to live under good conditions? What kind of food is best for them, if dry or live food is needed.

I noticed most people here don't keep ghost shrimp, is that because they're ugly, basic beginner shrimp or do they just not last as long?

·
Registered
200 Posts
I keep ghost shrimp. I do not find them ugly! I can see through them and all! any ways I do not concider them a basic beginiger shrimp breeding wise. They make tiny floating larva and in a few days they dissapear and reapear and tiny shrimp. A lot more time consuming and harder to keep than baby cherry shrimp in this stage of development.