The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, I asked about lighting in that section: I have a 29 aga tank. 2x65watt pc light which I will run just 1 light over the tank to keep in the 2wpg range. Suggested to me in lighting...(right now it is a 10000k) will switch to 6500k. The plan is an Amazonian river biotope to house Angel fish (Pterophyllum Scalare or Altum). Questions: What substrate should I use? What type of driftwood? Is CO2 neccesary? What plants besides Amazon Sword? Can I use peat to soften the water, and darken it? Should I use my RO/DI water or tap? Sorry for all the questions, but I am totally new to freshwater plant tanks. I have successfully breed Angels in the past, but had no plants, and have had only saltwater reefs for the last 15 years.
Thanks for your help!

·
Registered
214 Posts
What are your water parameters out of the tap? It would be interesting to know how much want/need to lower the pH/kH with certain substrates. You can find that out by contacting your local water supplier.
If you need to soften your water, you can use a pre-packaged soil like ADA Aquasoil or you can soften the water with peat hanging it in the filter or sprinkling it on the aquarium bottom under the final substrate layer.

CO2 is not necessary if you stay in the wattage range that you're in. If you go higher light, then carbon will become the limiting nutrient and algae will get a foot in the door.

As far as driftwood you can pretty much take any driftwood that you like and can find for a good price. Make sure you boil it for about 20-30min to get some of the tannins out that would otherwise over time color your water yellowish and to water-log the wood, so it won't float.