The Planted Tank Forum banner

7g planted tank

1002 Views 14 Replies 7 Participants Last post by  K.A.T.
Soooo, this is my first attempt at a planted tank. All comments / suggestions are appreciated!

No-name tank of ~ 7g with lava rock, Flourite black sand boosted with Tropica Nutrition capsules.

Fluval 207 (overkill...) with lots of bio material, purigen, matrix. Temp controller Inkbird. Made in PRC LED (Sunsun 301) 14w - 950ln, now at 8 hours photoperiod.

The tank is running for a month now, cycled with ammonia and prodibio bacteria. Went through the diatoms phase, now it's at green algae stage.

Dosing with Seachem excel only, as I'm sure that some of the nutrition tablets made it to the surface. No CO2.

Only epiphyte plants:
Anubias Barteri Nana
Spiky Moss
Java fern - Microsorum Pteropus 'Windeløv'

A few days ago 10 neocaridina and 4 snails were added.

Water parameters:
Temp - 75
GH - 6
KH - 5
PH - 8 (can't get it down no matter what...)
NO3 - 1ppm
PO4 - 0

Pics.

Plant Plant community Leaf Botany Vegetation

Plant Larch Terrestrial plant Evergreen Grass

Plant Terrestrial plant Vegetation Grass Groundcover

Plant Green Leaf Vegetation Leaf vegetable

Leaf vegetable Terrestrial plant Plant Ingredient Grass

Plant Botany Terrestrial plant Organism Fines herbes
Reactions: Mr.Submarine
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
4,901 Posts
Hello!

Your tank is all slow growing plants and you are are not dosing any fertilizer. The nutrition capsules should all be buried in the substrate, but none of the plants should be in the soil. So right now the only fertilizer they are getting is whatever is leaching out from the soil and whatever that snail is producing (not much). Plus that light is probably bit on the bright side for moss, fern and anubias only tank.