The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My new 75gl is up and running and about half way planted and im trying to get fish stock list together. Im still new to the freshwater world so I don't really know all my options possibly. Here is my ideas so far, any input would be greatly appreciated

6 Candy cane tetra ( have these in another tank already so they do not have to be moved to this one)
4-6 congo tetra or 4-6 Denison Barb or both? to much?
10-15 Rumynose or neons or other small schooling fish?
6ish Corys?
1 Elephant nose ( i had one of these years ago and it was cool just not sure how it would do in this tank. Research seems to have mixed reviews)
Ottos or Plecos or some kind of algae eating fish

·
Premium Member
75g, 33L, 2g and play tanks
617 Posts
that size you can do some Siamese Algae Eaters. or a bunch of Ottos would be cool. if there's some logs in there one of the Bristlenose, longfin and the super reds are ones I have been looking at. Or a mix of that? You could also get a Rainbow Shark, maybe a red tail, i don't know as much about those, but with that many smaller fish a Rainbow Shark should mostly ignore them especially if it grows up in there. All of these fish I mentioned will help with clean up as well in various ways. Ottos and Siamese are probably the best for cleaning your plant leaves. If you have wood, like log type stuff not little pieces, I recommend a pleco. Rainbows are just cool and do general algae clean up and bottom tossing to keep things moving around. kinda like a giant Cory. lol. But only one pleco and only one Rainbow. the riskiest of these would be the Rainbow.

·
Premium Member
5,710 Posts
My new 75gl is up and running and about half way planted and im trying to get fish stock list together. Im still new to the freshwater world so I don't really know all my options possibly. Here is my ideas so far, any input would be greatly appreciated