The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
276 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been wanting to get a 60P for a very long time now. Thing is, I HAVE to use a cover glass, especially in the winter, otherwise I loose too much to evaporation and start to have moisture issues in the room.

Trouble is...the cat. Even though we try to keep him off of stuff, there WILL come a time when my back will be turned and he will walk across the top. He does it on my Fluval Flora from time to time (I swear just to tick me off) but that came with some fairly substantial plastic corner pieces which the glass rests on.

So I'm wondering how the ADA cover glass, or more specifically the metal clips, would cope with the weight of a cat. I'm no glass engineer but I fear they will put a lateral stress on the aquarium sidewalls if too much weight is brought to bear on them.

Maybe I'm just paranoid but if anyone with an ADA 60P and cover-glass could share your experiences along these lines, I'd be grateful. Or if anyone has alternate suggestions for how to implement a cover glass I'm all ears.

·
Registered
927 Posts
Cat

My cats use to get on top of my tank. I caught each one , and held them , carefully , and I emphasize , carefully. I dipped there front paws in the water , and never had a problem again. And I don't use tops

·
Registered
276 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
My cats use to get on top of my tank. I caught each one , and held them , carefully , and I emphasize , carefully. I dipped there front paws in the water , and never had a problem again. And I don't use tops
Thanks, but the problem is not that the cat falls into an open aquarium. Like I said, I have to use covers for evaporation reasons and teaching him that there is water UNDER the cover wont stop him from wanting to take a siesta on it. :)

·
Registered
918 Posts