The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,179 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, i am going to be building my own stand and light fixtures for my soon to be 55g fancy goldfish tank.

I have a good idea of what im going to do.
I would like to have Anacharis (Egeria Densa) in there with some Vallisneria Spiralis maybe some floating plants and what ever else i throw in there.

Im going to be suspending a 4 ft 2 bulb shop light fixture above the tank.

What bulbs do i need for these plants (perferably id like to get them from lowes or home depot for cost reasons)

And how far away should i hang it from the substrate/water level?

Im new to this so any advice would be great and links are great because i know exactly what you are talking about!

Thanks!

·
Registered
736 Posts
What bulbs do i need for these plants (perferably id like to get them from lowes or home depot for cost reasons)

And how far away should i hang it from the substrate/water level?Thanks!
Depends on how you like your aquarium to look...kelvin isn't always the best way to decide on bulbs, but generally speaking - 2,000-5,000k bulbs tend to give the tank a reddish/yellowish look. Some would even say dark. It does a good job at bringing out the colors of red fish and red plants. 5,000k-8,000k are generally what most people use. They're referred to as daylight bulbs. Anything above 8,000k tends to be more on the blueish side...like most reef tanks. If I were you I'd just get some inexpensive GE or Phillips daylight bulbs for your tank. It'll give it a nice bright color.

As for hanging it, I wouldn't go higher than 4 inches above the tank. With only two bulbs you're only throwing down somewhere between 10-20 Par = low light. That's not a problem because E.Densa will grow in a toilet, not sure about the V. Spiralis...but it doesn't seem too demanding. Adding DIY CO2 wouldn't hurt, it'll only help the plants be able to better use the limited light they're getting.

·
Registered