The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone!

I'm new to this forum so hi! I have a 3 month old fresh water tank. It's 48" long and 55gallons. I have mostly clown loaches and some other random fish and they're all babies at the moment. I also have about 6 plants that I'd like to grow - I want the tank to be very natural looking with rocks and plants etc.

So of course I need a good light fixture! I'm also new to having such a large and complex tank so please excuse my ignorance on the subject...

Can you guys give me any suggestions? Brands, models, and pricing would be appreciated. Money is an issue - I'm on a budget ... so I'd like to spend between 100 and 200 dollars if possible.

I heard that I should have between 2 and 3 watts per gallon - is that right? I just don't know where to start or which brands are best etc...

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!
Rachel

·
Registered
3,378 Posts
Well since you didn't mention which 6 plants you'd like to grow, it's hard to know how much light or CO2 you'll need, but let's assume you are going low-tech, which means not so much light, and no CO2 injection.

For low-light you should go with this fixture.

For a bit more light you should go with this one. You should try not to worry too much about wpg. Just know that the first fixture is a normal output T5, and the second one is high-output.

I'd say if you can afford it, go for the high output T5 fixture. 2x54w would be perfect for your tank, and it doesn't necessarily require CO2.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hey - thanks for the response. We have an assortment of plants (I guess it didn't occur to me that different plants would require different amounts etc).

We actually got the current one (48" t5ho one) and it shorted on us within 5 minutes! Just a lemon or a bad brand?

·
Registered
3,378 Posts