The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
880 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I am New to the Planted Tank world and I love it. I have a $500 Budget for Christmas this year from my girlfriend :drool: !

I know what to get if I was doing a reg FW tank with no plants, but when it comes to a planted tank I am clueless as to what I should buy. I have a tendancy to just buy crap I feel I will "one day" need, and there goes the budget! So I was hoping to get some feedback so to speak from you experts.

$500.00 Budget, I would like to grow a carpet of HC with a few rocks and a school of either Neons, Rummies or Cardinals. I am not sure yet which species of fish I want but the Fish are NOT part of the budget. I would also like Shrimps, but I am unsure if an HC only tank is ok for shrimp. I was thinking of starting it the way "PlantBrain" had wrote about here:

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/g...ion/52332-new-method-start-up-algae-free.html

Any Recommendation on not so expensive companies for equipment so I can began my search?

Lighting?

Substrate?

Ferts?

C02?

Filtration Systems?

What size tank do you recommend for a beginner and a small budget?

Any type of directional pointers would be appreciated!
:help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help:

·
Registered
551 Posts