The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi! I got this tank a couple months ago but recently decided to do a rescaping with purpose so set this up a couple weeks ago. This is my first try at aquascaping (and really my first fish tank) so criticism is VERY welcome

Equipment:
5 gallon Fluval Chi tank
Finnex 26 watt clip on light
10,000-30,000k bulb
ZooMed 501 canister filter
Tetra 15 watt heater

Flora:
Anubias Barteri 'Nana'
Hemianthus callitrichoides
Taxiphyllum barbieri
Hygrophila difformis
Cryptocoryne wendtii v. 'red'

Fauna:
Super delta betta
Zebra thorn snail
Amano shrimp
Malawa shrimp

Currently dosing Flourish once a week and Flourish Excel daily. Pictures are taken with phone, so they aren't the best atm, haha.

All the anacharis is temporary just to have something to help prevent excess algae growth while everything is new. And floating stuff is there just cause Loki likes to hide in it.

Finnex clip on light

ZooMed 501 behind the tank

I originally wanted to put driftwood where that rock in the center is but couldn't find any that I liked when I was setting this up. Luckily flood season just ended here and I was able to go hunt for some. I found this piece that I think would look good if I chopped it up a bit.

Right now I'm thinking the driftwood is my best bet to make it look a bit better because everything is so short right now compared to the height of the tank.

·
Registered
532 Posts
looking nice and i agree that it needs some hieght try the driftwood and maybe add some valisneria

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
So my anacharis has been slowly melting over the past couple days (I thought it was just new plant syndrome) but this morning it was so far gone I had to pull it. Did some reading and apparently excel kills certain plants and inverts so I'm gonna start dosing every other day instead and see how that works. On the bright side the HC is starting to carpet :D

·