The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey Everyone!

This is my first attempt at making a truly planted tank with all the special stuff. CO2, High Lighting, Fertilizers (Trying, anyways).

I'm really enjoying the black Flourite sand that I decided to go with on this tank, which is really high in the tank. I don't know why, but I've always loved the look of thick levels of substrate on tanks. The rocks are my personal favorite in this tank though.

Plants:
1 Anubias Nana
1 Rotala (Not sure what kind)
1 bunch of Micro Swords
1 Corkscrew Sword? (Maybe, forgot the scientific name)
1 Not sure what the stuff is in the front of the tank. Some sort of foreground cover though.

Fish:
2 White Cloud Mountain Minnows
3 "Gold" White Cloud Mountain Minnows
1 Red Glo Fish (Zebra Danio) (I had to rescue this guy from a friends tank, after his other two Glo Fish were eaten by his new African Cichlids)

It's got a 27 Watt desk lamp over it from Wal Mart. I'm running a Hagen Elite Filter with DIY CO2 coming into it. I'm also running a massive Tetra Water Wonders 10 Gallon Filter in the back of the tank. This guy is only temporary as it takes up every space in the tank practically. I've got an Eheim 2213 coming in the mail, along with some Glosso (Which will most likely replace whatever that ground cover plant is in the front of my tank), and the future sole inhabitants of this tank, some Red Cherry Shrimp. Thanks Niptek, looking forward to those!

Please comment and let me know of anything I might be doing wrong, or that you think I should do in the future!

Hope you like it.

Front tank shot:

Shot showing the light and DIY CO2 Bottle:

Good shot of that unknown ground cover plant in the front left of the tank and the rocks:

And an over the tank shot:

·
Registered
392 Posts