The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New to the forum, not so new to the hobby. I've got a planted 40B, very low tech but heavily filtered. I've been running this tank for 6 years now. It started as an apisto breeder but I was too successful and stopped after 5 broods. It was then turned into a plant propagation tank for 4 years. I just rescaped and started stocking. I already have 10 rummy noses, 8 cardinals, 6 spotted cories and 8 ottos. I want to add 10 more cardinals and feature fish. I'm thinking 3 rams or "something similar". Wondering everyone's opinions and suggestions on that "something similar".

Any help is greatly appreciated

·
Registered
782 Posts
If you get german rams, be prepared for the possibility that they will breed if you get three (unless you get all one sex). Behavior-wise in a community, they are somewhat comparable to apistos, though my experience was that most of the rams I had were slightly less territorial than my apistos were. That said, I think rams would make a beautiful specimen fish; they are among the most attractive small cichlids on the market, both the natural coloration and the morphs.

If you're keeping cardinals and rummynose, I assume you're running it at super-tropical temps already, so that limits your choice of feature fish a bit. Rams certainly do like those temperatures though.

You could possibly keep apistos or kribs if your tank isn't too hot, but kribs, while arguably one of the most colorful dwarf cichlids are also aeguably the most fecund, so I'd keep only females or only males if you don't want to go back to the "too good at breeding" problem. I started with 3 and ended up with 50 in a matter of months.

If you don't want cichlids, a trio of Madagascar rainbow fish would do ok in a warm tank (reportedly they can handle up to 89°F). The males' fins are just fabulous.

·
Registered
2,141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·