The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 318 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been keeping reef tanks on and off for the past 19 years...some more successfully than others. Two years ago I had to tear down my tank as my family was moving to the suburbs with the intent to build our forever house. I posted on here about the design of tank (https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/9-equipment/1278953-plumbing-question.html#post11108493) but failed to keep up with posting any updates. Hopefully I'll do better with this thread.

I told my wife she could pick basically everything but I wanted a 300 gallon peninsula style tank with a basement sump room. (OK - I also had two other requirements - a garage with a lift and radiant heat.) And so we began...

Attachments

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
We moved into the house a few months ago and am finally settled enough to begin working on the tank. I still need to buy equipment but it's always good to start making the tank look a little better so bought some spider wood to begin working on the hard scape.

My tank was designed as a peninsula tank with a coast to coast overflow. The return feeds in from the opposite side pushing the water across the tank.

I'm going to make a spray bar for the return. As it's on the end of the tank I've ordered some clear food grade pvc pipe to make it with. I was going to try and make it out of acrylic tube but could not find any with the correct diameter for the plumbing.

I bought enough to plumb it so that either the spray bar can spray out at the top of the tank or plumb it to the bottom so that it shoots out across the bottom of the tank. I thought this might be better to not off-gas CO2.

Anyone have any thoughts/opinions on plumbing it at the top of the water line vs at the bottom of the tank? I would have to drill one hole at the water line no matter what as a siphon break.

Attachments

·
Registered
5 Posts