The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All I am fairly new to keeping a planted tank but I,ve spent lots of time reading a going over forums. Once i was comfortable enough to start a tank i set up a 20gal that was given to me. There is lots to learn but i am pluging along. I recently purchased a nova extreme 2x24 watt 24 inch freshwater light, seems good quality, dual reflector and all. The question i have is on the instructions it says not designed for use on a open top tank, What does this mean? And how important is it. The light sits 2 inch over the tank with snap on legs and has a splash protector under the bulbs, so What is the deal...Thanks for the help:D

·
Registered
397 Posts
Hey and welcome to TPT! I second what bsmith said, they more or less want to protect them selves by first protecting you and your surroundings. I have a 36" nova extreme and I have my splash guard on and I place it over my open top tank. Haven't had any problems with it other than water evaporation but no problems.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
man the replies come fast here this is a great forum thanks for all the help
One last question
I have 2x24 watts of t5 light over the 20 gal which puts me at 2.4 watt/gal is that a good bit of light for the tank for plant growth and will it require me to supply c02

·
Registered
1,189 Posts
Is it a 20 gallon long or tall? I assume it is a 20 tall, since the fixture is 24" long. I have the same fixture on my 29 gallon, I have no algae and don't use CO2 or add fertilizer (trace elements occasionally). The tank is pretty heavily stocked though.

A lot of people say it is too much light for no CO2. You can set up a DIY CO2 system pretty easily though.

·
Registered
9,100 Posts