The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I'm new to this planted tank hobby and happy to be here. I have a 29 gallon and a Nicrew Classic LED Plus with the below listed plants stocked.

My questions are:

1. This Nicrew light is listed PAR 75 @ 12inches. Is this enough light for the plants listed below? From my research, it seems I may need something strong, but I'm not sure.

2. Does PAR 75 refer to when it's at 100% strength?
a. If so does the dimming % directly correlate with PAR (i.e. PAR 37.5 @ 50%, etc)?

3. I just set the tank up and am planning on having one hour ramp up to 40% light strength, 5 hours @ 40%, then 1 hour ramp down to dark. How long should I run this schedule for before reassessing plant needs, algae growth, etc, and adjusting accordingly?

Plants:
Moneywort
Limnophila hippuridoides
Ludwigia Ruby sp. dark red
Rotala indica
Hornwort (submersed- tried to float it but it kept sinking which I think means it's adjusting)
Dwarf Hygrophila
Crypt Lutea
Anubias (forget which kind)

Thank you for the insights!

·
Registered
13,143 Posts
Generally speaking dimming correlates with par
Lights are tested by manuf. at 100%
Unless they show a par map it is the sweet spot dead center so really max par for that height in a smallish area.

·
Registered
2,600 Posts
If I recall correctly, that light is probably going to deliver, at most, about 50 PAR at the substrate, in a 29-gal, which is considered medium light. I wouldn’t expect algae problems as a result of too much light, but the Limnophila, Ludwigia Ruby and Rotala Indica may struggle a bit in terms of getting the full coloring that you see advertised. The Limnophila may be the most problematic.