The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to planted tanks, but have been dabbling with fish for quite some time now. But this forum has taught me a lot about plant needs

heres what ive got so far:
lights: coralife t5 aqualight w/ 2x6.7k 31watt bulbs
substrate: black fluorite

as far as which cichlids to get, i was looking at the demasonis and the yellow labs

and as far as plants go, i was looking at anubias, java ferns, and java moss.

any suggestions/input would be gladly welcomed :D

·
Registered
575 Posts
20 liters, or 20 long? 20liters- no way for cichlids (well shellies maybe), 20gallon, you'll need good filtration, frequent water changes, and a referee to break up the fights, unless you're only going with a couple. You might have more light than you need for those plants, really I think you'll have more options than just those 3 with that light.

·
Registered
567 Posts
Demasonis are quite a bit more aggressive than yellow labs, so it may not work. But if you can get it to, that will be a beautiful combination of colors. The key with mbuna is overstocking, to spread out the aggression, but a 20 long is still on the small side for them...you might be able to do two or maybe three of each until they outgrow the tank. I'd also suggest lots of rockwork or clay pots for them to hide in; they love caves. (You probably already know those things about them though.)

The plants sound fine though, mbuna usually leave those alone.

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
20 liters, or 20 long? 20liters- no way for cichlids (well shellies maybe), 20gallon, you'll need good filtration, frequent water changes, and a referee to break up the fights, unless you're only going with a couple. You might have more light than you need for those plants, really I think you'll have more options than just those 3 with that light.