The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello all,
I'm very new to planted tanks. I want to set up a 10g. I have a tank hood that has two sockets for normal bulbs. I plan on puting in two spiral bulbs each with 18w. These are the day light bulbs. If I do the math that's 18x2=36w. 36w/10g=3.6wpg. I know that this general rule does not work on 10g. Has anyone done this? What intensity does this amount to? low? mid? high?:help:

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks for the reply....i'm thinking about getting shirmps too. :D :D :D But in regards to the plants that I can gorw, is this mid or high intensity light?

·
Registered
1,245 Posts
This would be on the high side, I would think. Are you planning on injecting CO2? If not, you might run into algae problems. I am running two 15 W t8's on my 10 with no CO2, but I run only one for the full photoperiod, and I add in the second one for 4 hours of "high noon" lighting.

·
Banned
3,297 Posts
2wheelsx2, myjohnson's fixture probably does not have a reflector if at all,
and don't forget spirals get dimmer over time like any other compact bulb.
I think 2x18w is great, just try to get a long rectangle bulb not a round
spiral bulb as the heat from a spiral bulb could melt a plastic hood fixture.
you'll notice on my 10gal I use a 30w spiral in a single cone hood fixture.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
in regards to co2, will be setting up the pressurized bottle soon...maybe by the end of next week if all goes well.:D :D :D

·
Registered
70 Posts
I have 2x23 watts CF and 1x15W power-glo fluorescent tube on my 14 gallon...same footprint, just a little taller. I find I can grow anything, and with some DIY yeast CO2, I have never fertilized or had algae problems as soon as the tank matured.

I find the lower wattage CF bulbs are really red/yellow. I like the 23W as it is white light.

Adam

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
spy,