The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
392 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So on my trip to one of the LFS by me I was browsing the clearance section and saw a Tetra CO2 System Master Kit. I had seen it there a few months back for $50 but was turned away by how old it looked. Well today I pulled the trigger as it was only $7.50 and thought what the hay! Here's a pic of the throwback system haha:

So I'm not a total newbie to co2 systems as I do have a few smaller ones but am no where near the skill level I wish I was at. That being said I screwed on the regulator and heard compressed air coming out and quickly tightened the regulator onto the bottle so I know the tank still has air in it. I turned the top dial to open the chamber and nothing happened. I dunked it under water, no leaks, nothing. The top dial actually screwed all the way off and still nothing. Am I missing something? Am I supposed to turn a valve or maybe this small hex piece towards the bottom needs to be opened?
Don't get me wrong, I'm all for messing with stuff but something about a regulator and canister made in 1991 and compressed air has me wanting advice before hand. Any advice and or experience with similar systems and such will be of great help! Thanks all.

·
Registered
12,851 Posts
I'd start by seeing if the plastic dial turned and not the valve..

·
Registered
435 Posts
That's awesome. :) I think I remember that one!

·
Registered
133 Posts
the screw(small hex piece) on the bottle looks like it holds the top to the bottle. I wouldn't try to mess with that yet.
Look at the under side of the plastic cap, make sure its not stripped and it turns the square piece when you turn the knob. If stripped, maybe take a pair or pliers and see if you can get the square piece to turn?

·
Registered
12,851 Posts
the screw(small hex piece) on the bottle looks like it holds the top to the bottle. I wouldn't try to mess with that yet.