The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I am new and this is my first planted tank. It took me about 7 months to get it done right so far. I am not good with art/decorating, so any suggestions are welcome.

Dimenssion
6 x 2 x 2 ft

Fish
13 discus
33 cardinal tetra
12 sterbai corys
4 oto
3 ABN plecos
thinking to put some Geo RedHead

Equipment
2x 36" T5 HO light on 2 hrs @ noon and 4hrs in the evening (each fixture comes with 4 bulbs, but only use 2 (1x 10000k and 1x Pink bulb))
note: from what i read 1 bulb T5HO is enough for low light plant

1x fx 5 filter
1x reaction 45 filter

Pool sand

Plants
anubias
cryt wenti
java moss
sword
Marsilea Minuta
Red Flame Sword
some other plants but don't know the names

2 big Drift wood.

I put some root tabs nothing else (no CO2). I do 30% - 50% WC about 2 times a week.

Thank you,

Tony

Attachments

·
Registered
6,262 Posts
Well your scape doesn't apply the golden rule, which directs the eye through out the tank. But I quite understand the dilemma of getting the fish to swim around the wood. For when I have a large plant on the side the fish are always on the side where the plant is.

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
so you 're suggesting move the big wood to the right and put a big plant right in the middle? Just an fyi: that big wood is 24" cube. what if i take the big piece out and replace with something else?

If you don't mind, can you share with me the Golden Rule is? sorry for many newbie questions.

·
Registered
4,221 Posts
Golden Ratio. The link Hilde posted is nice but it is ratio, not rule.

Another easier to use rule is the rule of thirds. Divide horizontally and vertically into thirds and place focus points at the intersections, never dead center.

Either one makes for a better composition in a planted tank and in photos.