The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to plant tanks but not to aquariums. I have kept freshwater before (no plants) and have been keeping reef aquariums for the last 6 years.

My parents have a tank with the following:
150g tank 6 ft long
2 emperor 400's with biowheels, carbon and filter floss
3 inches of aquarium plants com substrate
1 Koralia 3 Power Head for extra circulation
8x65 power compacts at 6700k
300w heater

They did not have the lights on a timer and subsequently would have the lights on from 12 to 20 hours a day depending. They got a log of algae and slime (bacteria) in the tank. I did a 25% water change and got the majority of it out. I used RO/DI water with Kent RO Right added back to get the PH up to around 7 or a little less. I also put the lights on a timer for 7 hours a day and cut them back to 4x65. They do not have C02 and are not interested in running it. They would like it to be as low tech as possible.

The tank has been doing much better now with less lighting a monthly 25% water changes. The plants grow slowly with some doing better than others. We have the full line of Seachem plant stuff (Trace, Complete, Iron and Potassium). I don't imagine we need to dose at the recommended dosing levels but perhaps I am wrong. I would really like some advice on that. Not to mention that could get expensive on 150 gallons.

I am hoping for some advice on the things I have done good, and what can be improved. I am not currently dosing but should I be? And should I use the instructions on the bottle? What other things should I add or change to increase the chance of success with this tank?

Currently the water tested as follows:

Ammonia = 0
Nitrites = 0
Nitrates = 0 (did the test twice)
PH = 7.0 as near as I can tell by the color
lights are on 7 hours a day - 4x65 so 260 watts over 150g tank.