The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,018 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
would it be cheaper to buy a complete system online w/regulater, solenoid, etc. or but each item individually from different sources??? if individually, can you direct me to the correct websites with model/item? thanx...putting together 40 breeder tank and need CO2 for high light system

·
Registered
273 Posts
the Rex Grigg regulator with the NV-55 is a good deal - bestaquariumregulator.com

Hoppy has a pretty good build thread :HERE

If you find out how much you will spend on a solenoid, needle valve and such you can search for a good deal on a quality regulator. I ended up buying my solenoid from Rex, my needle valve at Fabco's website, and my regulator on eBay. 45 for the cornelius reg, around 25 shipped for needle valve. Check out the victor thread, it's closed now but plenty of good info....VICTOR

·
Registered
1,018 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm new to the pressurized CO2...i've been doing DIY CO2 the last year...what exactly are all the parts that I need??? i'm only familiar with a CO2 cylinder, regulator, and solenoid...please educate me:icon_conf

·
Registered
392 Posts
Here's the parts you'll need and what they do:

Cyinder: Holds the CO2
Regulator: One gauge will tell you how much pressure is left in the cylinder and the other will tell you how much pressure is going through the CO2 lines (assuming you'll have a dual gauge regulator, like the one listed on Rex's site)
Solenoid: On/off switch for CO2 via an electromagnet controlled valve
Needle Valve: Gives you finer control of the CO2 going into your tank. The low pressure side of the regulator won't give you fine enough control.
Check Valve: Stops water from your tank from siphoning back into your CO2 tank
Drop Checker: Let's you monitor the amount of CO2 in your tank.