The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I've started this tiny little 1.76 gallon aquarium/jar.
I'll admit, I'm a complete newb and was initially posting for advice on my usual forum (a rat forum... so... not much help).

Right now, I have java fern and java moss in it (only things I figured I couldn't kill). There's a Marineland Shatterproof heater (keeps temp at 78 F) and an Elite Mini Submergeable filter going.

You can't see in the pic, but the filter's current actually makes the moss on top wave. Is that bad? Also, I have a 60 watt desk lamp... and that's it. How many hours should I keep it on? Is the lamp too strong? Also, I ordered two moss balls, but then I read that they were like "animals", so does that mean I have to had cycled the jar/aquarium before I can put them in?! Help?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,580 Posts
Hello, I've started this tiny little 1.76 gallon aquarium/jar.
I'll admit, I'm a complete newb and was initially posting for advice on my usual forum (a rat forum... so... not much help).

Right now, I have java fern and java moss in it (only things I figured I couldn't kill). There's a Marineland Shatterproof heater (keeps temp at 78 F) and an Elite Mini Submergeable filter going.

You can't see in the pic, but the filter's current actually makes the moss on top wave. Is that bad? Also, I have a 60 watt desk lamp... and that's it. How many hours should I keep it on? Is the lamp too strong? Also, I ordered two moss balls, but then I read that they were like "animals", so does that mean I have to had cycled the jar/aquarium before I can put them in?! Help?

Thanks in advance.

Dude that looks pretty awesome.. would be a nice nightlight too!
You should switch the 60wt bulb out for one of those CFL daylight energy saving bulbs.. will help out alot.. but you're not really keeping anything that needs much light...